“ How are non-traditional degrees perceived in banking? Would it be a disadvantage? If so, how do you combat this? ”

Emily L. asked a question
during the live chat Meet the Graduates & Interns of Commercial Banking in Lloyds Banking Group
to Lloyds Banking Group Recruitment Team

09/11/2018
9 Live chat
09/11/2018
Transaction Execution Manager/ Financial Intelligence Investigator/ Associate Relationship Director, Lloyds Banking Group

Hi Emily! I did a law degree so really not a traditional route into the banking industry! however, I have been able to utilise my skills from my law degree in all three of my placements so far because the bank is not just about numbers! There are so many roles, for example, my first in transaction execution was legal based so that was a win-win situation! It's really not a problem what your degree is in because variety is what makes this bank so great - what is your degree in?

09/11/2018
Graduate Relationship Manager, Lloyds Bank

Just to add to this, I work alongside people who have degrees in Geology, Fine Art and History. The subject itself isn't too important!

09/11/2018
Associate Business Development Manager, Lloyds Banking Group

And I studied Geology also, so it's really nothing to worry about! As long as you have an interest in the industry and keep yourself updated with current affairs you'll be golden!

09/11/2018
Emily L.

Thank you for all for your responses, they're very useful! I study Psychology and Business, so it is slightly linked on the Business side.

Perfect, so the best way is to ensure how I can use my degree to benefit the bank, great to know there is a search for diverse skill-sets! In the application process did you find it best to make a particular point of how the non-traditional degree can make you suitable?

09/11/2018
Analyst- Financial Institutions, Lloyds Banking Group